Rosa Reviews: Playful Promises

 

I was recently browsing a very good lingerie blog. I was looking around for review on Agent Provcatueres sizing before I dove into their sale and found a whole wealth of information on independent lingerie lines! Playful Pomises  came highly recommended and wouldn’t you know, they were having a BIG sale.

So I decided to drop some cash on some pretty things are here are my spoils!

DISCLAIMER: All my own money, nothing was sent to me, this is an honest review and includes some photos of me wearing items. Please do not use images without crediting me.

First thing I got was this amazing red Love Crimson tulle and Stitch Bra in 32DD

Price: Usually 37.50, Sale price 12.00

Colour: 10/10 amazing sexy silky red crimson. I would say it falls into the cooler blue tone of red. Really very flattery on my pale skin and I imagine would be beautiful on any skin colour. Red I think come sometimes be a little tacky but this shade is anything but cheap looking! It was

20140707-144640-53200231.jpg

Detailing: 8/10 Beautiful stitching both inside and out! Reminds me of a the What Katie Did Bullet Bra. Once again creates a really luxurious expensive finish on the item. My only problem is the bra is edge with tulle which sits a little funny on me through clothes. Almost makes a bullet/conical shape but not quite…I think it’s almost make a lip! Making my jugs look a little like actual jugs.

20140707-144643-53203286.jpg

Fit: 8/10 The fit over all was very good on me. I am not an unusual bra size per say although some sizing guides fit me at a 30FF. I found the DD to be big enough with a doubt. As I am a little fleshier under my arms (and always have been not matter what the cup size) I prefer the look of a wide strap on myself. These straps are very very slim which I would worry start to hurt if the cups had too much pressure put on them or where too tight. It’s a bra I would wear for a casual day and not one I would depend on for helping form the shape I need under a tight outfit!

20140707-144641-53201371.jpg

Instead of going with silk and tulle brief (which isn’t a shape I like on myself) I instead opted for:

The Tatiana High waist brief in Medium and Tatiana Longline Suspender Girdle also in Medium

I didn’t take any photos of the briefs but for most catagories they are the same at the Girdle.

Price: Girdle – 45.00 usually, 10.00 in sale Brief: usually 30.00. 8.00 in sale

Colour: Beautiful sheer black matched with black silk with a rose patter. I LOVE anything rose pattered. The print is in subtle tones again, not garish of cheap looking in the slightest.

20140707-144641-53201044.jpg

Detailing: 9/10 again amazing workman ship. Brief has a simple exposed elastic waist band, which personally I really like. It’s more everyday and sits perfectly under clothes. Gridle has an amazing open back, sutble ruching and something which I can only imaging is “modestly stitching” over the bottom. The only flaw I can see is it only has 4 suspenders which can be a pain with seamed stockings!

20140707-144645-53205879.jpg  Fit: 10/10 I’m between a 10 and a 12 and went for the medium (12). Perfect fit, would NOT go any smaller if you’re packing more then a 38 inch hip. Sometimes high waisted things can be cut a little too short and hit that unflattering spot under your belly button but both these are a great length!

20140707-150851-54531206.jpg

Next up: Dominique Long Line Bra size 32DD

Price: Usually 45.00, in sale 10.00

Colour: 10/10 A beautiful deep silky black and mesh again. Couldn’t really capture it well with my phone camera!

20140707-144647-53207775.jpg

Detailing: 9/10 Lovely long line bra, very beautiful stitching and detailing especially at the front where the cross section between the cups! I really like the mix of the silk and mesh again.I expected the cage section to be a little more reinforced but this could be more of a sizing issue!

20140707-144639-53199078.jpg

Fit: 7/10 To be honest there site mentioned these run a little big but as I mentioned before I went for what I thought would be too small and it actually turned out to be a small bit big! I find it sits away from my body a little. Again the smaller straps are a little lost/concealed in my fleshy underarms/chest. Love the 3 clasp back though which feels very strong and supportive. Bras strength really comes from a well fitting band but I may try and exchanging this for the smaller size and see if it fits better! Its sad because I really love it and I was soooo hoping it fit well! Sorry it looks a little bunchy in the photo as I put it on after my corset (duh) and didn’t have enough space!

Ghost Retro Body and Briefs (both medium):

Pricing: body 45.00 down to 10.00, brief 25.00 down to 10.00

Colour: 10/10 amazing but really really REALLY hard to photograph light blue with blosson pattern again with black mesh.Perhaps even a little mauve? The website photos show it well. Not my usual colour pallet but very pretty in these items.

 

20140707-150852-54532360.jpg

Detailing: 10/10 again lovely statement stitching which may not be everyones cup of tea but I like a lot! Sort of hardens up a fairly girlie objects. The back of the body suit is in sheer mesh again which is beautiful and it has POPPERS in the crotch thank god. One thing I hate is taking all my clothes off in bathrooms to pee,so this is a big asset to me!20140707-144644-53204244.jpgFit: 10/10 Medium in both again and no complaints here! Was worried about the body as it’s very unscrtured but was lovely and flattering on bigger boobs. No support mind you but I’m not too worried about that, wouldn’t be great it winter though! 20140707-144638-53198735.jpg

And finally:

Heather Vintage stitch soft bra and mini bloomer brief

Pricing: bra 20.00 down to 10.00, bloomer 15.00 down to 8.00

Colour: 10/10 lovely heathery mauve with black lace detail, less brown then the pictures on the website look, best colour reference is the close up of the lace I’ve included.

20140707-144636-53196977.jpg

Detailing 10/10: again  amazing stitching on the bra and the lace edges and beautiful and delicate and not scratchy at all!

20140707-144637-53197896.jpg

Fit: 10/10 Both items are in medium and so lovely and comfy. The brief isn’t really my style (I really just couldn’t resist the set) as I find the low and puffy cut can make someone of my figure look a little dumpy! More of a loungerie item I think. something to wear under comfy clothes for a day of lazing! The bra fits like the body suit, nice and snug without being too tight!

20140707-144649-53209148.jpg

 

20140707-144648-53208157.jpg

So if you’re planning on buying some Playful Promises I say go for it! Amazing selection of styles and items, including waspies,suspender belts and a clothing line! I dipped my toes in in the sale and will keep an eye on them! Would definetly buy from them again, quick affordable delivery and a beautiful website.

R x

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rosa Reviews: Playful Promises

  1. thank you for such a detailed and useful review…. sizing does differ between brands, and between styles, so it’s the hardest thing to order online…. am awaiting my own Agent Provocateur order’s arrival with fingers very much crossed

    • Oh thank you! I shopped the Agent Provoc sale went up to a 34 E this time, I think it’s probably the best sizing for me…Let me know how yours go and what you got! You just can’t beat them for sheer beauty ❤

Leave a Reply

