Illamasqua review and gothic glamour look

IMG_3701.JPGIMG_3575.JPG

Now those who know me know I work a lot with Illamasqua products in my work kit. I love so much about the brand, their creative director Alex Box is one my heroes as she is for many artists working today. The brand has a strong identity, a dark glamorous image that manages to bridge the gap from smokey bold theatrical to neutral hyper realistic. I decided to put in my seasonal order and stocked up on some pallets and strong lip colours.

The new Facets pallet is a little beauty (pictured above). I have this one for my personal stash and I’m already using every day. It includes “Aura”, a gold iridescent highlighter cream and “hollow” which is a great cream pigment …perfect for gentle contouring for light skins. The brow powder is “thunder and perhaps a little too brown for my brows. That is the problem with pallets like this is everything wont be perfect for everyone…but all in all the powder colour choices are good will work on a lot of people! it also comes with a little brush that has an angled end and a powder buffing end. Very good for an included brush, especially the angled end! I wouldn’t use the eye brush much myself but it’s still very nice and would be good if you get caught without an eye brush.

I also ordered a replacement Neutral pallet for work and a Complement pallet (pictured below). Love these both, the colours in the complement pallet rang from a warm champagne shimmer, a cream cool brown, a rich chocolateu plum which is super flattering on brown eyes and a sparkly purple which is beautiful but not a shade I will use often. I find strong purples make me look a little sleepy. I am more into a sharper dark shade for myself but as I said it would be lovely on someone else!

IMG_3584.JPG

Heres the look I created with the 2 pallets! I’m still working on photographing makeup but I think I’m getting better…sorry if some of them are a little unflattering but I wanted to use flash and try to show the make up as truthfully as possible! Although theres a couple of clearly filtered/instragramed shots in there. I also used a individual eye colour in Stealth, a mix of two lip colours Growl and Rockabilly. Rockabilly is my first time purceshing one of Illamasquas Glamore lip colours. They are an amazing formula, somewhere between a gloss and a lipstick but long lasting and very pigmented. God knows who they do it. I am awful for getting lipstick everywhere if they aren’t totally matte but this stays well in place! Growl has been on my shopping last for a year now. It’s described as a rich mahogany brown on the website but it has a more reddish tone then I was expecting. I love it, would even wearing during the day but you need a liner and brush really to get a nice sharp line. I didn’t do this for the look below and I wish I has as I find the lip a little messy looking back. But I am impatient!

IMG_3671.JPG

 

IMG_3706.JPGProducts used:

Skin: Illamasqua Skin Base foundation 04, Ben Nye in Fairest as highlighter

Cheeks: Hollow Pigment (Facets Pallet)

Eyes and brows: Facet and Complement Pallet

Hightlighter: Gleam Aura

Lips: Growl and Rockabilly

 

 

IMG_3606.JPG

IMG_3595.JPG

IMG_3629-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

